[MediaWiki-l] Delete MediaWiki logs

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
3 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

[MediaWiki-l] Delete MediaWiki logs

Krabina Bernhard
Hi,

I cannot find an answer to the question how I can delete MediaWiki logs.

deleteArchivedRevisions.php is great for deleting the revision itself, so it can no longer be used. But still, the entries in the deletion log show up.

So I want to delete either single entries in the deletion log or the complete deletion log and cannot find any maintenance script or other option to do this.

The problem is not so much the deletion log itself, but the announcement that a version of the page has been there before. I don't want users to see this. The simple usecase: I am preparing wiki pages to test functionality. They should be then created by users. This is possible of course, but the hint that there has been a version of the page in the deletion log is counterproductive in this case as it held only test data...

Cheers,
Bernhard

_______________________________________________
MediaWiki-l mailing list
To unsubscribe, go to:
https://lists.wikimedia.org/mailman/listinfo/mediawiki-l
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Delete MediaWiki logs

Bryan Hilderbrand
There's probably a better way, but could you find the *log_id* you want in
the database in the *logging* table and then use the following:
*DELETE from logging where job_id='###';*

Not 100% sure this is the log you are looking for though?

~Bryan

On Fri, Mar 1, 2019 at 3:59 AM Krabina Bernhard <[hidden email]> wrote:

> Hi,
>
> I cannot find an answer to the question how I can delete MediaWiki logs.
>
> deleteArchivedRevisions.php is great for deleting the revision itself, so
> it can no longer be used. But still, the entries in the deletion log show
> up.
>
> So I want to delete either single entries in the deletion log or the
> complete deletion log and cannot find any maintenance script or other
> option to do this.
>
> The problem is not so much the deletion log itself, but the announcement
> that a version of the page has been there before. I don't want users to see
> this. The simple usecase: I am preparing wiki pages to test functionality.
> They should be then created by users. This is possible of course, but the
> hint that there has been a version of the page in the deletion log is
> counterproductive in this case as it held only test data...
>
> Cheers,
> Bernhard
>
> _______________________________________________
> MediaWiki-l mailing list
> To unsubscribe, go to:
> https://lists.wikimedia.org/mailman/listinfo/mediawiki-l
>
_______________________________________________
MediaWiki-l mailing list
To unsubscribe, go to:
https://lists.wikimedia.org/mailman/listinfo/mediawiki-l
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Re: Delete MediaWiki logs

Brian Wolff
Doesn't delete it totally, but there is a "suppress"/revdelete feature
where you can hide log entries from most users.

Just add:
$wgGroupPermissions['sysop']['deletelogentry'] = true;

to bottom of LocalSettings.php and admins should be able to "delete" log
entries.

See https://www.mediawiki.org/wiki/Manual:RevisionDelete for more
information.

--
Brian

On Fri, Mar 1, 2019 at 4:26 PM Bryan Hilderbrand <[hidden email]>
wrote:

> There's probably a better way, but could you find the *log_id* you want in
> the database in the *logging* table and then use the following:
> *DELETE from logging where job_id='###';*
>
> Not 100% sure this is the log you are looking for though?
>
> ~Bryan
>
> On Fri, Mar 1, 2019 at 3:59 AM Krabina Bernhard <[hidden email]> wrote:
>
> > Hi,
> >
> > I cannot find an answer to the question how I can delete MediaWiki logs.
> >
> > deleteArchivedRevisions.php is great for deleting the revision itself, so
> > it can no longer be used. But still, the entries in the deletion log show
> > up.
> >
> > So I want to delete either single entries in the deletion log or the
> > complete deletion log and cannot find any maintenance script or other
> > option to do this.
> >
> > The problem is not so much the deletion log itself, but the announcement
> > that a version of the page has been there before. I don't want users to
> see
> > this. The simple usecase: I am preparing wiki pages to test
> functionality.
> > They should be then created by users. This is possible of course, but the
> > hint that there has been a version of the page in the deletion log is
> > counterproductive in this case as it held only test data...
> >
> > Cheers,
> > Bernhard
> >
> > _______________________________________________
> > MediaWiki-l mailing list
> > To unsubscribe, go to:
> > https://lists.wikimedia.org/mailman/listinfo/mediawiki-l
> >
> _______________________________________________
> MediaWiki-l mailing list
> To unsubscribe, go to:
> https://lists.wikimedia.org/mailman/listinfo/mediawiki-l
>
_______________________________________________
MediaWiki-l mailing list
To unsubscribe, go to:
https://lists.wikimedia.org/mailman/listinfo/mediawiki-l