TechCom Radar 2019-08-14

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
1 message Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

TechCom Radar 2019-08-14

Kate Chapman-2
Hi All,

Here are the minutes from this week's TechCom meeting:

* RFC Meeting on RFC 2019 Process Amendments
<https://phabricator.wikimedia.org/T216308> on 21 August at 2pm
Pacific/23:00 CEST/21:00 UTC in #wikimedia-office

* Hosted remote/in person meeting from Wikimania Hackathon

* Discussed: <https://phabricator.wikimedia.org/T227776> Generalize
ParserCache into a generic service class for large "current"
page-derived data.
     * Summary:
          * general support for the idea of having a generic store for
artifacts derived from page content ("cache" seems a misleading term)
          * functionality should be implemented internally to MW core
for now, based on the storage infrastructure of the existing
ParserCache
          * making such functionality available to standalone services
raises concerns, e.g. about checking access permissions
          * we may want a way to add access flags to the cached objects
          * ParserCache can already store multiple variants. The new
system would just add the ability to add other things beyond variants,
and to store them for more than just the latest revision of a page.

You can also find our meeting minutes at
<https://www.mediawiki.org/wiki/Wikimedia_Technical_Committee/Minutes>

See also the TechCom RFC board
<https://phabricator.wikimedia.org/tag/mediawiki-rfcs/>.

If you prefer you can subscribe to our newsletter here
<https://www.mediawiki.org/wiki/Newsletter:TechCom_Radar>

Thanks,
Kate

--
Kate Chapman
Senior Program Manager, Core Platform
Wikimedia Foundation
[hidden email]

_______________________________________________
Wikitech-l mailing list
[hidden email]
https://lists.wikimedia.org/mailman/listinfo/wikitech-l